Organization and duties

The Kyujanggak Institute for Korean Studies was established in 2006, through the union of the Kyujanggak and the Seoul National University Korean Culture Research Center. The International Center for Korean Studies was subsequently inaugurated in 2007. The institute comprises seven departments, one center, and two offices operating under a director and an associate director. These are, respectively, the Planning and General Affairs Department, the Curatorial Department, the Collection Management Department, the Information System Department, the Editorial Department, the Education Department, the Conservation Science Department, the International Center for Korean Studies, the Korean Studies Research Promotion Office, and the Administration Office, in addition to three review boards: the Steering Committee, Personnel Committee, and Korean Studies Research Committee.